The Real Cost of Education

 

B.C. students warned to stick to budgets

Today  in the CBC media, there’s an article admonishing students to stick to their tight  budgets…this of course presupposes that students even have a clue what a “budget” is, never mind how to stick to one…

The author cites the cost of an undergrad degree at $ 77,000 for food, shelter and other expenses..I’m assuming that she, hopefully, is not including tuition in that amount, as well, but 77 thou seems hardly adequate , even if she is talking about on-campus housing.

Here’s some realistic advice from someone who went through it, lived off campus, paid my own rent and went full time to school (had to pay for that too) and, of course, had student loans.
Get a McJob, do anything part time, never mind about benefits or big wages, do something, because you’ll never make it on that 77 thou…believe it.
I worked three part time jobs, set up my course load so that I was doing courses that related to each other (History, Art History in the same centuries, for example)…this makes paper-writing far more interesting to the student and the prof (or TA, who does the reading and grading) and if you have summers off, take an extra course and work all summer instead of partying.
None of this will matter if you know nothing about budgeting.. learned it in high school, long before I attended Uni, and was still in trouble by the end of term..however much you think you need, it probably won’t be enough, so get at least one part time job.
Last, but not least, go over the scholarship/bursary catalogues with a fine-tooth comb (in other words, carefully and patiently) and find scholarships/bursaries that work for you, and apply for them…you might be surprised, many of these are based on gender, age, your parents’ profession, what you are taking for course content, etc.
This is free money, and all that is required is a thank you note to the donor.

All this  ‘advice’ presupposes that you actually want to be there, that your GPA is decent to start with,  and that you are motivated to do well, because once the slippery slide  to dismal grades starts being greased up, there is no return..another reason why the fact that I didn’t go to Uni until my early thirties is important…I lived  first, away from parents and others,  taking responsibility for my own life, and learned  much from those years before I decided I was ready for  Uni…it might be a good thing for many students to do the same..you can always go to school later if that is what, as an adult, you decide to do.

When I was eighteen and had my first full-time job working as a clerk-secretary for  draftsmen in an aerospace corporation, my favourite, Tom, who was also an excellent fine artist, decided to quit his job (married with children) and ‘do’ art full time.

I asked him if he was sure, if he was afraid, etc etc and I’ll never forget his answer..

“Why should I spend my whole life doing something that I decided would be my career when I was only 18 years old?”

You can spend a lifetime doing what you have been brought up to believe was your future, or you can decide to follow your own drummer..I followed mine, after that simple awakening, and I never regretted the interesting, crazy life I’ve had, because I decided when and where for myself…

The one thing that anyone will regret is budgeting their lives around others’ expectations…hope you are rich enough to avoid that ……

 

About cityprole

It's all in the blog...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

