Don’t Send Us your Tired and Poor….

More than 30 U.S. states refusing Syrian refugees on ‘shaky legal ground’

In wake of Paris attacks, governors of at least 31 U.S. states announce plans to bar Syrian refugees

By Matt Kwong, CBC News Posted: Nov 18, 2015 3:02 PM ET Last Updated: Nov 18, 2015 7:35 PM E

I am  so disgusted by US politics right now that I can’t believe I  could be any more embarrassed  by  Yankeeland than I already am…guess what?  Today I am angrier and don’t know where to channel it.

I was born in the USA of two American citizens who were just one  generation removed  from being  both refugees and immigrants…and I’m not alone.  I would have to  guess that almost all  Americans, leaving aside those who are First Nations and those who are black, whose ancestors had no options,  have immigrants in their backgrounds. No, I’m wrong, most  First Nations and Afro-Americans have immigrant ancestors as well, some unacknowledged, but nonetheless there..  I know they do, we all do..  No one can  argue the point.  The  American experience is rife with  cultural  ghettos and that  is true from  coast to coast, and with few exceptions, from  Canada to Mexico.  You are all children of immigrants, why deny the same status to those who need  help  now?

Is it fear?  Is it the ugly  Republican  penchant for spreading paranoia and race-baiting hate,  religious bigotry  or simply that these folks aren’t ‘white?’

My own family were one generation removed from both racial and religious hatred, ..paternally, Irish Catholics,  and maternally, Russian /Polish Jews…my ex-husband used to, as a joke, call me off-white (because of the Jewish connection, since his parents were Hungarian Catholics who were, ironically, also refugees to Canada in the  ’50’s, and unapologetic anti-Semites, themselves..)

The wheel never stops turning, nor  can any sane observer expect it to..but the fact that 30 States are unwilling to accept refugees of any sort is  beyond my capacity  for toleration..What on  Earth has happened to Americans?  Is  there no social progress. or social justice to be  had in that country at all, anymore?  Do the few  kind voices  get outshouted by the brainless howling  bigots?

It makes me weep to  think that I  could have  still been stuck there instead of  thankfully coming to Canada, not having to be embarrassed about  the  ugliness, denial and  narcissism  evident in the  country I was born in…and  who would have thought, even a few generations ago, that this would come to pass, that the country that grew and prospered with it’s burgeoning immigrant population would forget, so soon, what made it the  one time Promised Land for the rest of the world…now?

Pathetic…..

About cityprole

It's all in the blog...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment