Justin Case You Forgot the Seniors…

Justin Trudeau answers B.C. voter’s widely shared Facebook letter

Casandra Effe wrote to Trudeau with top 10 things she hopes he’ll do as future PM

CBC News Posted: Oct 24, 2015 10:50 AM ET Last Updated: Oct 24, 2015 11:17 AM ET

Real Change

 

I went to the site, very pretty, very vague..when I typed in “Search’ re seniors, all that came up was some stuff about medical costs and veterans’ pensions..nice, but not what I asked for..and, as a senior on a fairly low pension, I would like some help with that..we need a raise in pensions, we aren’t all middle class…
I saw youth and children being made a focus..understandable from a new PM with small children, but what about the rest of us? We aren’t all from wealthy families with big retirement bank accounts..I’ll never get sucked into any phone or banking or investing scams..I don’t have the funds to get conned…please make sure that we seniors aren’t getting conned by the newly elected Libs…

I did try to listen to what  JT   had to say during the campaign, waiting in vain for  something, anything about seniors that wasn’t referring to veterans or  prescription costs.not that those things aren’t important, but they aren’t the whole picture…

When you live on a fixed income, you are subjected to the perils of the open market in ways that can only be understood when experienced..

My diet has changed drastically, not because I  want/need to lose  some poundage (I do) but because I can no longer afford to eat the way I did even last year..

I try to be healthy and watch sodium, calories carbs etc. but when it comes down to it, we all need to  realize that the obesity rates stem as much from the high cost of ‘healthy’ foods as any will power we might be able to exercise..

I remember when I was a young person that there were stories about the horrors of  poverty in old age, and older  folks having to eat  pet food to survive..*shudder*   But these days, who can afford pet food?

About cityprole

It's all in the blog...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Justin Case You Forgot the Seniors…

  1. Bill Hayes says:

    Yes, some/much/all that you say has relevance to people our age. Yet, there’s a greater good involved in elections (in particular) and in politics (in general): namely, the common good. Elizabeth May summed it up powerfully when she remarked that voting is not shopping. There is more to citizenship than getting a good deal for ourselves.

Leave a comment