Homing in on the Houseless…’Affordable’ Means Never Having to Say Subsidized…

 

Vancouver real estate town hall has people share their stories

The town hall on Wednesday evening was organized by B.C. NDP MLA David Eby

By Maryse Zeidler, CBC News Posted: Mar 17, 2016 6:15 AM PT Last Updated: Mar 17, 2016 6:32 AM PT

                                       *****************************

City of Vancouver breaks ground on affordable housing project

15-storey building in False Creek will have a number of 2-bedroom and 3-bedroom suites

By Gavin Fisher, CBC News Posted: Mar 16, 2016 2:03 PM PT Last Updated: Mar 16, 2016 2:03 PM PT

 

As someone who moved away from Vancouver within days of retiring more than 6 years ago (I could see it coming) I can only shake my head at what is happening in the town I used to love..
It’s interesting that this  overheated market is affecting  homeowners to this extent..I was a renter with a decent job and single..can’t even imagine how people are getting by now in this unaffordable city…
Someone needs to go beyond expecting that corporate pinup Clark to do anything to upset her greedy base and remind our new PM that subsidized housing was once a thing, a good and affordable amount of housing was widely available at all income levels, and it needs to be revisited as a concept..if transportation and resource extraction can be subsidized, why not housing?

**************************

I was interested until I read the financial eligibility requirements..are they serious? What about the people who CANNOT AFFORD to rent in Vancouver anymore..you know, Meggsy, those who don’t make $36,500 annually? In other words, the majority of people having problems with renting? What about them? The seniors, the working poor?
I am a senior who had to leave immediately upon retiring, and that was years ago..as a matter of fact, I was an employee of the City itself, made a decent living, but could barely afford to rent in Vancouver while I was still working..and after I retired? Hot-footed it out of the area since I could see it coming..and this is Vision’s warped vision of what the term “affordable” housing means?

About cityprole

It's all in the blog...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment